You’ll Be a Man Before Your Mother

Sounds a lot like me but my father died when I was eleven. A.G.

No Facilities

My daughter took this photo in 2009. They added a skateboard area to the park I used to play in. Nothing like that in my day. My daughter took this photo in 2009. They added a skateboard area to the park I used to play in. Nothing like that in my day.

I never thought that I’d have to preface a post with a disclaimer regarding how it’s not a post about gender identity. It’s not. The expression in the title is what my father used to tell me as he dealt with my injury du jour. He would look at my skinned knee, brush the bits of dirt out of the bloody scratches and say “you’ll be a man before your mother.” I won’t tell you how old I was before I realized the relative certainty of that statement. I like to think that I wasn’t “slow on the uptake” but rather that his words had the desired effect.

I always felt better after he said that.

My dad wasn’t one to…

View original post 789 more words

Leave a Reply

