My most cherished item-blog post

poster 2x (2) Since I don’t have any object (term used literally) I really cherish except for wife and children, grandchildren and great grand children. I posted a picture of my first published book that means a lot to me after my wife pushed me to publish. I had been writing for years and rewriting the story and never once gave a thought to actually publishing the book. Sort of closet writer as a stress reliever from my everyday life in management.  After reading the first book, she pushed for a year until I finally gave in. I had no idea about publishing and once I did publish this book. I took it upon myself to learn all about the publishing industry and now have a lot more books published and this time I didn’t have to pay to have it published. You won’t find the book on any bookstore shelves except the local Hastings under local authors.  I paid good money for the cover being exactly what I wanted, hence that is why I cherish it so much. Under my wife’s urging I have now published fifteen books and that is why I cherish my first book so much.  It may never make a best seller list but it is listed in the Library of Congress and has a copyright in my name. Something no one but my children and family may some day look at.  Have a great day following the Cherish Blog fest and I will drop in on many of you over the next three days. Follow this blog for book reviews, cover reveals and more.Cherished Blogfestclick on the blog fest symbol for others to follow.

56 thoughts on “My most cherished item-blog post

  1. Thanks for joining the Cherished blogfest, and congratulations on your book. Wishing you all the best with it!

  2. Hi, A.G. Moye! I found your blog via Cherished Blogfest! Love your post and that you cherish your first published book and why. I published my first novel last year — “Perceval’s Secret.” It’s available at Amazon, B&N and Kobo. What an education! I’m sure that I still have more to learn about publishing, and I continue to learn about promotion and marketing. Hope you’ll stop by my blog “Anatomy of Perceval” and leave a note! (smile)

  3. Just getting through the process of publishing a book is a significant achievement. It’s so cool that you went from there to publishing many more books. Thanks for sharing this story with us during theis blogfest.

    • It was a lot to learn since I come from a metals industry background. I know I made several mistakes while learning but I think I have gotten it right now. At least I hope so.

  4. Congratulations on being a published author. As others have already commented, it’s an accomplishment to get through the process and your books on a shelf. I have toyed with the idea of writing a book (non-fiction), but get caught in the mire of actually starting and then making time for it. You had the determination that I think I’m lacking! Anyhow, nice post about your first book. That was an excellent choice.

  5. Book publishing has changed so much since I was in the industry (as a designer) so, so many years ago! I think it is fabulous that you are a published author. Good for your wife for encouraging you!

  6. Congratulations for the book and I hope you success in the future as well. I understand that after writing a book, we want to see it become a success, but not all best-sellers are great stories. Thank you for participating and sharing with us your cherished book.

  7. Yes one day I hope to hold a book I’ve published it will certainly be cherished! I expect that first book stirs many memories. 🙂

  8. Wow! Congrats on that. Glad you had your wife behind your back. Great post!

  9. A worthy choice! It’s wonderful to have the support of your spouse, especially in publishing.

    • When it hit the market, I had no clue about things I would have to do as an author besides writing the book. She has been very supportive of what I had to do.

  10. Now that is a real achievement! Good for you. I’d love to publish a book…

    Thank you for visiting my blog. I’m going to do the rounds tomorrow. Tried yesterday but hardly any of the relevant posts were up yet.

    • Today, being the last day, I hope you did manage to make your rounds to a few of them. I finally reached #144 which was the last on the list after spending several hours today at it.

  11. Congratulations on your publishing achievements! The first one is the hardest and most cherished. I can see that. Kudos to your wife for giving you that push. Cheers! 🙂

  12. i can relate to cherishing a publication, especially that first one. so much work, overcoming rejection, enduring edits – publishing books is a tough undertaking with the results worth cherishing! congrats!

  13. 15 books, wow! This is a great thing to cherish! I love that your wife nudged you in the right direction and it just opened up so many possibilities for you. That’s how a relationship should work 🙂

  14. Congrats! I hope some day I can write something similar about my first published book. I’m not in a big hurry, but I am working on getting a NaNoWriMo manuscript into shape!

  15. Corinne O'Flynn

    It’s no small feat to put a book out there. I also listed my first book as a cherished item in my list (I couldn’t just pick one!) for what it means to me. Congratulations on that first one, and I am glad to know that you’ve kept on to create a library of 15 books!

  16. Wow! What a great story! Congratulations! 🙂 Your wife sounds amazing – really supportive. You must be so proud of all of your hard work. Thanks for sharing!

  17. Audrey Montague

    Wow, this is a really lovely story! You are a genuine inspiration to hopeful authors (like me!) so thank you so much for sharing this!

  18. An inspiring story for anyone thinking of or in the process of writing that first book 🙂

  19. A.G., I join others in congratulating you on your books and your post. I think your first book is a most cherished thing, and it sounds as if they have only gotten better over time!

  20. I believe so but like all authors, they believe that the latest book is the best ever.

  21. The first book is always special and congrats. I am sure it rocks:)

  22. Wow! Nice. I will try to read it. Congrats!
    Thank you for visiting my blog. Your blog is interesting.

  23. Congratulations on publishing 15 books! Also on having such a super wife!!

  24. Angelika Schwarz

    “…Sort of closet writer as a stress reliever from my everyday life in management.”
    Oh my gosh… did I write that? I’m still at the threshold before publishing…and hope that I too can someday publish without paying for it. Once I get my book on the road, I’ll be reading more… and your book is def. on my list. Thank you for following me!

    • When you take that first step coming out of the closet and get your book published, there are many platforms where you can do that without paying. Best of luck.

  25. It is good to hear stories like this… One of these days…. 🙂

  26. That’s a huge achievement. Proud of you man!

Leave a Reply

